Henry Martyn Trust

Five Marks of Mission

Five Marks of Mission

From the founding of the earliest churches Christians have been involved in mission, aiming to share God’s love and God’s truth with the world. There are lots of different ways that mission has been expressed – some good and life affirming and others sometimes less so.

But what does mission mean in the 21st century? What form should it take – and how are our lives to be shaped by mission? How can we discern what God is doing in the world and get involved as God’s people both locally and globally? The Five Marks of Mission encourage Christians to take a holistic and creative approach to engaging with God’s mission in God’s world.

The Five Marks of Mission listed here are shared by many churches and give a helpful overview of the areas that the Encounter Scheme seeks to engage candidates in:

  1. To  proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom                                            
  2. To teach, baptise and nurture new believers
  3. To respond to human need by loving service
  4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation.
  5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth.

You can read more about each mark and how CCCW supports placements that offer opportunities in these areas by visiting the web links above.

Many thanks to the Church Mission Society (CMS) for allowing material from the 2IM study resource to be re-used here and on linked pages.

Close Message Warning

This web site uses cookies for functionality and analysis purposes. These do not give us, or any third party, access to your computer or any personal information about you. For more information please read our privacy policy.